Kritagya Nayyar — Ruchi Awasthi

Humans of IIT Roorkee
2 min readSep 13, 2021

--

“I had no experience in photography and used my mobile phone to click photos — in fact, I didn’t even know how to edit photos. When I borrowed a camera from my seniors in my first year, I instantly knew this was something I wanted to pursue. As a result, I set out to explore this domain with Ruchi.”

“I remember asking Kritagya how to pose and he replied ‘Mujhe kese pata?’. So, I started looking at influencers and got interested in the art of photography. In the initial years, I was camera-shy, however, constantly complimenting each other kept us motivated to experiment and learn new techniques.”

“I got my first break when I got the opportunity to shoot for a startup based in Delhi. I started pursuing internships after that and finally bought a camera with the stipend. I continued photography throughout college and with my earnings from freelance projects, I sponsored, as I might say, my expensive passion.

Roorkee has some amazing spots to click photos (apart from the main building :P).

However, there was no culture of photography in IITR back then, and it was embarrassing sometimes, to have people stare at us while we were clicking photos. But seeing the results, many people joined the bandwagon, and photography culture in IITR bloomed. I started getting opportunities for various wedding shoots and covered the wedding shoot of my cousin as well. Pictures, I believe, are such a great way to tell stories. They are a reminder of all the amazing moments that have elapsed in our lives! ”

“Having a passion or hobby in addition to your career goals really brightens up your life. I am a dancer and even maintained my art journal. The turning point came when one of my reels unexpectedly hit 2.5 million views. I began posting regularly on Instagram and soon, my work started gaining popularity. Kritagya and I continue to create social media content even after graduating from college. We manage our jobs, along with our passion. If you love what you are doing, it becomes quite a relaxing event in your everyday life.”

Kritagya Nayyar & Ruchi Awasthi

Kudos to @kritagya.nayyar and @thatsoruchi for starting a new trend and vibe at IIT Roorkee.

--

--